< Back to News


JUNE 2021

AIAUK 2021 Design Awards Winner

Magdalene College Library has won in the Professional Practice Medium Sized Projects category at this year’s AIAUK Design Awards. For over 20 years, The American Institute of Architects UK Chapter Excellence in Design Awards programme has proven highly valued by architects as they confer trans-Atlantic recognition for design excellence. Professional entries are sought from UK-based architects or designers, for projects anywhere in the world, and Architects or designers based outside the UK for projects completed in the UK.

Acknowledging that architecture is a corpus of inherited ideas, Alternative Histories invited more than 80 contemporary practices in the UK and Europe to imagine an exchange with architects from the past. Each office was assigned a different drawing from the collection of Drawing Matter. The architects were then tasked with making a model that not only responded to what they saw, but envisioned an alternative future for the original drawing while adhering to the constraints of the project.


MAY 2021

Níall has received the award for Outstanding Contribution to Architecture from the Building & Architect of the Year Awards 2021. Past winners of this award are Sheila O’Donnell and John Tuomey of O’Donnell + Tuomey, Shane de Blacam and the late John Meagher of De Blacam & Meagher Architects, and Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara of Grafton Architects.


APRIL 2021

Politecnico Di Milano Lecture

Niall gave a lecture for the Politecnico di Milano as part of a series of online conferences in the context of the master’s degree in “Architectural Design and History” directed by Prof. Federico Bucci. His lecture reviewed the collection of halls that we submitted for the Venice Biennale in 2018. It described the installation and the idea it embodied of framed halls within bounded enclosures and looked at eight of the halls, which have all now been built.